Joint MLA/AAHSL Legislative Task Force 2012 Annual Report

This report covers the period November 2011 through October 2012. The Joint Legislative Task Force supports advocacy efforts of AAHSL and MLA and consists of membership from both organizations. Ex-officio members from AAHSL who serve during their appointed AAHSL terms include the current president and the chair of the Scholarly Communications Committee. The position of chair rotates between the two organizations every two years. Cynthia L. Henderson, representing AAHSL, served as Chair from November 2011 to November 2012. The Chair of the Task Force will rotate to MLA from November 2012 until May 2014. Cynthia L. Henderson will continue as Vice Chair from November 2012 until May 2014. Key support for this joint program is provided by the MLA Legislative Staff Liaison, Mary Langman. The task force normally meets in Washington, DC to conduct business and to meet with members of Congress or their staff according to schedules prepared by Ms. Langman.

Meetings

The task force meets biannually in Washington, DC to conduct business and meet with Congressional staff. Fall meetings are not held in years when presidential and midterm elections take place. A fall 2011 meeting was not held as a cost savings measure to the association and because Congress has focused primarily on raising the debt ceiling and reducing the federal deficit over the past year.

The task force met April 10-11, 2012 and addressed two high priority issues: securing the highest possible funding level in Fiscal Year 2013 for the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and encouraging members of Congress to cosponsor the Federal Research Public Access Act (FRPAA). The task force also addressed the work of the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) to explore strategies for expanding public access policies across the federal government, the Research Works Act of 2011, and educating Congress about NLM's role in providing programs and resources that support disaster preparedness and response activities.

The task force met with invited guests Dave Moore, Executive Director of the Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research and Vice President, Government Relations, Association of American Medical Colleges; Betsy Humphreys, Deputy Director, National Library of Medicine; Jerry Sheehan, Assistant Director for Policy Development, National Library of Medicine; Emily Feltren, Government Relations Director, American Association of Law Libraries; David Carson, General Counsel, US Copyright Office; and Chris Weston, Attorney-Advisor, US Copyright Office.

On April 11 constituent visits were scheduled on Capitol Hill for the task force members. Meetings were held with Congressional staff providing support to members of the House and Senate Appropriations Committee and Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies Appropriations Subcommittees, the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee (HELP), the Senate Judiciary Committee, the Senate Homeland Security Committee, and the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform.

Descriptions and links to statements the two associations have developed and signed onto since the 2011 Annual Meeting can be found in the information issues and policy section of the MLA headquarters report.

Legislative Priorities

Congressional activity and legislation is vast and requires the Task Force to establish priorities that focus on legislation most relevant to MLA and AAHSL. Following are the 2011 legislative priorities.

National Health Information Policy

NLM Funding IMLS Funding Healthcare Reform

Intellectual Property and Copyright Law Health Care and Public Health Information

Resources

Disaster Preparedness and Response

Resources

Healthcare Reform

Telemedicine and Telehealth

Patient Privacy

Public Access to Government Information Consumer and Patient Health Information Health Research Information Resources

Healthcare Reform

Health Education Information Resources

Healthcare Reform

Health Information Technologies and

Bioinformatics Healthcare Reform

NIH Roadmap Initiative, including: NIH Roadmap for Medical Research/Common

Fund;

Multidisciplinary Collaborative Research Clinical Research Translation; and Training

New

Clinical Researchers and Bioinformatics

Professionals

Interoperable Health information Technology

Infrastructure Civil Liberties

USA Patriot Act Reauthorization

Additional information about MLA's public policy actions can be found in the annual reports of the Governmental Relations Committee, the Ad Hoc Committee for Advocating Scholarly Communications and the Information Issues and Policy section of the MLA Headquarters Report.

Committee

MLA Members

Hope Barton (6/06-5/14) Vice Chair (11/10-11/12) Barbara Epstein (11/08-5/12)

Carla J. Funk, MLA Executive Director

Linne' Girouard (6/11-5/15) Jerry Perry, President (6/11-5/12)

Donna Timm (6/10-5/13)

Mary M. Langman, Staff Liaison

AAHSL Members

Cynthia L. Henderson (11/10-11/14)

Chair (11/11-11/12)

Gary Freiburger, President (11/11-11/12)

Neil Rambo (11/09-11/13)

Regina Kenny Marone (11/08-11/12)

Julia Schneider (11/11-11/15)

Following AAHSL's Annual Meeting November 2-7, 2011, Gary Freiburger replaced Pat Thibodeau as AAHSL president, Cynthia L. Henderson became Chair for one year to complete what would have been Jane Blumenthal's second year as Chair, and Julie Schneider began a four-year term as the AAHSL member-at-large replacing Jane Blumenthal whose four-year term ended. M.J. Tooey, AAHSL President-elect, attended the April 2012 meeting on behalf of Gary Freiburger who was unable to attend.

This report is informational and requires no action by the AAHSL Board of Directors